About Our Group

Vision and Purpose

The purpose of the Northwest Montana Backcountry Horsemen is to perpetuate enjoyable common sense use of horses in the back country; assist government agencies in maintenance and management of the resource; and educate, encourage and solicit active public participation in wise and sustaining use of horses and use by people commensurate with our heritage and the back-country resource.

Our Vision: To ensure stock use continues on all public lands and to expose the wonders of our wilderness and wild places to the generations through fun, inspiring and thought provoking programs and partnerships; to encourage responsible horsemanship by teaching Leave No Trace principles in the backcountry.


In the early spring of 2015, a group of like-minded horse and backcountry enthusiasts decided to get together and create a new chapter of the Backcountry Horsemen of Montana. This chapter will be educational, family oriented, forward thinking, member friendly and willing to serve all public lands where needed.

Our members want to have fun and work at the same time. We are open and encourage families with young children to participate in our events and work parties. We are also be open to any members who support the purpose and vision of the organization. The NWMTBCH fosters a teaching environment to encourage a long lasting relationship with our members and to promote the organization to future generations. We work to expose as many people as possible to our heritage and our wild lands to instill a passion to protect them and our right to stock use within these areas.

Officers and Board Members

Position Name Email Phone
President Rick A. Mathies [email protected] 406-752-2209
Vice President Alden Totten [email protected]
Secretary Mary Westphal [email protected] 406-862-2355
Treasurer Carey Monson [email protected] 218-591-5905

Board of Directors Rick Buzzell
Board of Directors John Peine
Board of Directors Claudia Mathies
Board of Directors Amy Irish
Board of Directors Glen Struble
Board of Directors Wendy Monfort
Board of Directors Ron Trippet

State Board Cary Monson
State Board Mary Westphal
Alternate State Board Ron Trippet

Contact Us

For general information, feel free to contact us at [email protected]. We'd love to hear from you.